Your browser is out-of-date.

In order to have a more interesting navigation, we suggest upgrading your browser, clicking in one of the following links.
All browsers are free and easy to install.

  • in vitruvius
    • in magazines
    • in journal
  • \/





Common Unity Rozana Montiel Estudio de Arquitectura - Mexico City, Mexico

Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT) College of Architecture Dean Michelangelo Sabatino and Director of the Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize (MCHAP) Dirk Denison announce the winner of MCHAP for Emerging Architecture (MCHAP.emerge):    

Common Unity Rozana Montiel Estudio de Arquitectura. Mexico City, Mexico

Common Unity is an intervention done in the San Pablo Xalpa housing unit in Mexico City, which has approximately 7,000 inhabitants. Rozana Montiel Estudio de Arquitectura’s mission was to build trust through design, working around the barriers created by the inhabitants in order to make the space permeable, democratic and meaningful.

“At best, the emerging generation of architects working across the Americas today is establishing a distinct voice, that recognizes modesty, economy of means and social purpose. The MCHAP Jury was unanimous in recognizing the spatial, social and technical merits of Rozana Montiel Estudio de Arquitectura’s Common Unity project complex: a retrofitting operation that requires design ingenuity and programmatic clarity.  By exploring notions of porosity, flexibility and efficiency, these apparently simple interventions bring life to a contested area in the heart of a housing project. It is an architectural language of elegance and authority, that punches well beyond its weight,” said Jury Chair, Ricky Burdett.

The Americas Prize for Emerging Architecture is awarded as part of the biennial Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize and recognizes an outstanding built work in the Americas by an emerging practice.  Selected by an esteemed jury, the MCHAP.emerge winner receives a research professorship leading a studio in the College of Architecture and $25,000 towards research and a publication.

The winner was announced on April 12 at the symposium and award ceremony at Illinois Institute of Technology in Crown Hall that also featured presentations by the four finalists for this year’s MCHAP.emerge:

Common Unity Rozana Montiel Estudio de Arquitectura 
Children Village Aleph Zero + Rosenbaum
Embodied Computation Lab The Living / David Benjamin 
María Montessori School EPArquitectos + Estudio Macías Peredo

The MCHAP 2018 Jury includes Chair Ricky Burdett CBE; Jose Castillo; Ron Henderson; Rodrigo Pérez de Arce; and Claire Weisz. 


The Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize (MCHAP) is a biennial prize that acknowledges the best built works of architecture in the Americas. MCHAP was conceived by Illinois Institute of Technology College of Architecture in 2013. 

MCHAP is supported by Kohler Co., the Alphawood Foundation, the Mies van der Rohe Society at the Illinois Institute of Technology, and AIA Chicago. 

About Illinois Institute of Technology

Founded in 1890, IIT is a PhD-granting university with more than 7,300 students in engineering, science, architecture, psychology, design, humanities, business, and law. IIT’s interprofessional, technology-focused curriculum is designed to advance knowledge through research and scholarship, while preparing students from throughout the world for a life of professional achievement, service to society, and individual fulfillment. 

Visit for information on all available academic programs. 

College of architecture

Headquartered in Mies van der Rohe’s historic S.R. Crown Hall, the College of Architecture at the Illinois Institute of Technology is respected by architects throughout the world, for its accomplished alumni, innovative teaching practices, and history of professional excellence.
The College's present curriculum is structured around a distinctive horizontal “Cloud Studio” format--a school-wide design and research laboratory in which students from all degree programs work collaboratively. This imparts the skills needed to strive in fields of research and data analyzation, and helps students to develop a practice that questions the ever-evolving roles that architecture, landscape architecture, and urbanization play in the contemporary world.

The College offers a five-year Bachelor of Architecture degree, four Master’s degrees (Master of Architecture, Master of Landscape Architecture + Urbanism, Master of Science in Architecture, and an MARCH/MLA Dual Degree), and Chicago’s only PhD in Architecture.

Visit for information on all available academic programs.

Common Unity Rozana Montiel Estudio de Arquitectura. Mexico City, Mexico<br />Foto Sandra Pereznieto González

Common Unity Rozana Montiel Estudio de Arquitectura. Mexico City, Mexico
Foto Sandra Pereznieto González

2018 winner for emerging architecture Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize

Chicago IL


© 2000–2018 Vitruvius
All rights reserved

The sources are always responsible for the accuracy of the information provided